New York Auto Driving Laws
Driver Violation Point System
The DMV driver violation point system helps to identify drivers who commit
several traffic violations during a specific time period.
Remember that the point system is not the only reason for a driver license
suspension or revocation. Under New York driving law, there are mandatory
suspensions or revocations.
For example, the DMV must revoke your driver license if you are convicted of
three speeding violations within an 18-month period and you have fewer than 11
New York Driving Law Point Schedule
New York driving law assesses the following number of points for specific
Violation of New York Traffic Laws - Points
- Speeding (MPH over speed limit not indicated) - 3
- Speeding (MPH over speed limit):
- 01-10 MPH - 3
- 11-20 MPH - 4
- 21-30 MPH - 6
- 31-40 MPH - 8
- More than 40 MPH - 11
- Following too closely - 4
- Passing improperly, changing lanes unsafely, driving to the left of center,
driving in the wrong direction - 3
- Failed to obey a traffic signal, a Stop sign, or a Yield sign - 3
- Railroad crossing violation - 3
- Failed to yield the right-of-way - 3
- Passenger safety violation, including seat belts, child safety seats, or
passengers under the age of 16 - 3
- Reckless driving 5 Left the scene of an accident that includes property
damage or the injury of a domestic animal - 3
- Failed to stop for a school bus 5 Other moving violations - 2
- Inadequate brakes 4 Inadequate brakes (vehicle of an employer) - 2
How the DMV Calculates Your Point Total
In accordance with New York driving law, the DMV computer system
automatically calculates your point total. Your point total is the total number
of driver violation points that you received during the 18 previous months.
The points are counted from the dates of your violations of New York traffic
laws, not from the dates of your traffic convictions. A traffic conviction is
required for the points to appear on your driver record.
18 months after the date of the violation of New York driving law, the points
for that violation of New York traffic laws are removed from your point total.
The convictions remain on your record.
Under New York driving law, if you receive 11 points or more in 18 months,
the DMV suspends your driver license. You can request a DMV hearing only to show
that a different person committed the violations.
You cannot request a DMV hearing to prove that you were not guilty of the
violations. You cannot request a DMV hearing to request a waiver of the
Note: Insurance companies have point systems different from the DMV driver
violation point system. The two point systems have no connection. Contact your
insurance company about their point system.
Out-of-State Traffic Violations:
Except for Ontario and Quebec, points are not added to your NYS driver record
if you commit an out-of-state traffic violation. Under New York driving law,
points can appear on your NYS driver record if you commit a traffic violation in
Ontario or Quebec.
For More Information
New York State Department of Transportation