New Jersey Auto Driving Laws
Driving is a privilege. It is not a right. If you do not obey New Jersey
driving law, you may have your driver license taken away (suspended), so that
you may not drive for a stated period of time.
Fines and imprisonment may also be imposed for moving violations of New
Jersey traffic laws. License restoration depends on the types of offenses and
the number of convictions.
Motor vehicle laws also cover moped drivers, bicyclists, and pedestrians.
Anyone who commits a motor vehicle offense on a moped, skate, bike, or while
walking is subject to motor vehicle penalties and may be scheduled for a hearing
in municipal court.
Penalties and Fines: Point System (Moving Violations)
Under New Jersey driving law, any driver who is convicted of a moving
violation, including offenses committed while operating a motorized bicycle,
will be assessed points for each conviction of New Jersey traffic laws in
accordance with the NJSA Point Schedule.
New Jersey belongs to two Interstate Compacts. Member states exchange
information to ensure driver compliance with the law and that they receive
penalties for violations.
The Nonresident Violator Compact includes 44 states* and the
District of Columbia, assures nonresident motorists the same rights and
privileges as resident motorists, requires drivers to fulfill the terms of
traffic citations received in member states or face the possibility of license
suspension in their home state, provides that nonresident drivers have due
process protection and cannot be detained out-of-state.
*Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon and Wisconsin are not
Note: The compact does not apply to parking or standing violations, highway
weight limit violations, and violations of Hazmat transportation laws.
The National Driver License Compact exchanges violation
information with other states* and the District of Columbia, ensures that
out-of-state violations become part of your NJ driving record. Two points are
assessed for each moving violation.
*Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee and Wisconsin are not
Point Violation Notices
Under New Jersey driving law, MVC will automatically send an Advisory Notice
if your point total is between 6 and 11. For a total of 12 or more points, MVC
will issue an automatic Notice of Scheduled Suspension.
Points Remain on your Driver History Record
Under New Jersey driving law, even after your license is restored, all point
violations remain on your permanent Driver History Record. However, this record
differs from your current driver status; your current status equals the point
total minus the point credit deductions.
New Jersey driving law stipulates that if you are assigned points on your
Driver License, you will have to pay point surcharges (see below) in addition to
any court-imposed fines and penalties.
Surcharges remain operational as long as a motorist has six or more points on
record resulting from violations of New Jersey traffic laws posted in the
preceding three years.
The point total is based on the date the violations are posted to your
record, not the date when the violations occurred.
In accordance with New Jersey driving law, if the surcharge is not paid, MVC
will suspend all driving privileges indefinitely and take judgment action filed
in the state Superior Court, which may include securing a lien against any real
property that you own, a garnishment of your wages, or other similar
- $100 for six points, and
- $25 for each additional point
- $100 for driving while unlicensed
- $250 for driving while suspended
- $100 for failing to insure a MOPED
- $250 for operating an uninsured vehicle
For More Information
New Jersey Department of Transportation