Georgia Auto Driving Laws
There are three ways by which you may lose your driving privileges:
The Department of Motor Vehicle Safety is authorized to cancel your license
if you fail to give the required or correct information needed in your
application or if you are otherwise ineligible. In accordance with Florida
traffic laws, you may reapply once you satisfy the requirements.
When your license is revoked for violation of Georgia driving law, your
driving privileges are terminated and withdrawn until the end of the period of
time prescribed by the formal action of the Department. At the expiration of the
revocation period, you may apply for a new license.
When your license is suspended for violation of Georgia driving law, your
driving privilege is temporarily withdrawn for a specific period of time.
Georgia driving law stipulates that the Department shall mandatorily suspend
a license for a conviction of any of the following traffic law offenses in
Georgia or any other state:
- Homicide by vehicle.
- A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
- Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer.
- Fraudulent or fictitious use of, or application for a license.
- Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident.
- If you refuse to take a chemical test for intoxication, then your license
will be suspended for 12 months.
- Operating a motor vehicle with a revoked, canceled, or suspended
registration in violation of Code Section 40-6-15.
- Conviction for driving without insurance is a 60/90-day suspension.
- If convicted for driving while license is suspended, revoked or canceled,
your driver's license will be further suspended for six months.
- If you fail to appear in court or respond to a citation, your license may be
- Your driver's license will be suspended if you are convicted of possession,
distribution, manufacture, cultivation, sale or transfer of a controlled
substance or marijuana.
- The Department is authorized to suspend your license if its records or other
evidence shows that you have accumulated 15 points within 24 months under the
point system, including violations committed out of state.
Georgia Driving Law Point System
Violations of Georgia driving law will result in points being assessed to
your driving record as shown below:
Violation / Points
- Reckless Driving - 4 points
- Unlawful passing school bus - 6 points
- Improper passing on hill or curve - 4 points
- 15 mph but less than 19 mph - 2 points
- 19 mph but less than 24 mph - 3 points
- 24 mph but less than 34 mph - 4 points
- 34 mph or more - 6 points
- Disobedience of any traffic-control device or traffic officer - 3 points
- Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage while driving - 2
- Failure to adequately secure a load - 2 points
- All other moving violations - 3 points
- Child restraint - 1st offense - 1 point
- Child restraint - 2nd and subsequent offense - 2 points
- Aggressive driving (A conviction of aggressive driving by a person under 21
years of age will result in a suspension of the driver's license.) - 6 points
- HOV lane violation - 4th and subsequent offense. - 1 point
Under Georgia driving law, at the time of the suspension, the points shall be
reduced to 0 points.
In accordance with Georgia driving law, your driver's license will be revoked
in Georgia, or any other state, if you are convicted of one of the following
- For any third conviction of a mandatorily suspendable offense within 5
years, you will be declared a habitual violator. This is a five-year revocation.
- Refusal to submit to a re-examination of driving skills or knowledge of
driving rules after receiving notice giving reasonable grounds for such a
- If there is sufficient evidence of incompetence or unfitness to drive, due
to incapabilities by reason of disease, mental or physical disability, or by
alcohol or drug addiction.
For More Information
Georgia Department of Transportation