Florida Auto Driving Laws
Every driver who gets a license must drive safely to keep it. If you violate
Florida traffic laws or become an unsafe driver, your license can be taken away.
It can be suspended, revoked, or canceled.
In accordance with Florida driving law, your license can be suspended if
- Make a fraudulent driver license application.
- Are not able to drive safely.
- Allow your license to be used for a purpose that is against the law.
- Are convicted of a violation of Florida driving law in a traffic court and
the court orders that your license be suspended.
- Misuse a restricted license.
- Earn a certain number of points for traffic offenses on the point system.
- Break a traffic law and fail to pay your fine or appear in court as
In accordance with Florida traffic laws, your license must be revoked if you
are found guilty of, or department records show:
- A felony in which a motor vehicle is used.
- Not stopping to give help when the vehicle you are driving is involved in a
crash causing personal injury.
- Lying about the ownership or operation of motor vehicles.
- Three cases of reckless driving within one year. Forfeiting bail and not
going to court to avoid being convicted of reckless driving counts the same as a
- Three major Florida traffic law offenses or 15 offenses for which you
receive points within a 5-year period.
- Vision worse than the standard minimum requirements.
A court may also order that your license be revoked for certain other
violations of Florida driving law.
Under Florida traffic laws, your license will be revoked for at least three
years if you take the life of someone because of reckless driving.
In accordance with Florida driving law, the following points will be assessed
against your driving record for violation of the Florida traffic laws shown
Violation / Points
- Reckless driving / 4
- Any moving violation resulting in an accident / 4
- Passing a stopped school bus / 4
- Driving During Restricted Hours / 3
- Unlawful speed - 16 MPH or more over lawful or posted speed / 4
- Unlawful speed - 15 MPH or less over lawful or posted speed / 3
- All other moving violations (including parking on highway outside the limits
of municipalities) / 3
- Improper equipment or vehicle in an unsafe condition / 0
- (Operator corrects defects within 10 days from the date the traffic citation
was issued) / 0
- Violation of curfew / 3
- Open Container as an operator / 3
- Child Restraint Violation / 3
Length of Suspension
- 12 points within a 12-month period - 30 days
- 18 points within an 18-month period, including points which cause suspension
under line 1 above - 3 months
- 24 points within a 36-month period, including points which cause suspension
under line 2 above - 1 year
In computing points and suspensions, Florida driving law requires that the
offense dates of all convictions will be used.
Three points will be deducted from the driver record of any person whose
driving privilege has been suspended only once under the point system and has
been reinstated, if such person has complied with all other requirements.
NOTE: In accordance with Florida driving law, serving a point suspension does
not prohibit these convictions from being used to accumulate additional
suspensions or revocations.
For More Information
Florida Department of Transportation