Connecticut Auto Driving Laws
Keeping Your Driver's License
In order to keep your driver's license, you must drive safely at all times.
Under Connecticut driving law, you can lose your license for:
1. Leaving the scene of an accident in which you are involved, without
2. Giving false information when you apply for a driver's license.
3. Attempting to change the information on your license or using someone
else's license when attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage.
4. Failing to appear for a re-examination.
5. Failure to comply with DMV requests.
8. Using a motor vehicle to commit a felony or taking the life of someone in
a motor vehicle accident.
9. Letting someone else use your driver's license or identity documents to
obtain a license or ID card.
10. Failing to appear in court when summoned for a motor vehicle violation,
or being convicted in court of a serious violation of Connecticut traffic
11. Other reasons as the DMV may deem necessary under Connecticut driving
Safety Belts and Child Restraints
Before you drive away, always fasten your safety belts and make sure all your
passengers are using safety belts or child restraints.
Connecticut has a mandatory seat-belt law. Also remember to lock the
It is important that you and your passengers use safety belts. Studies have
shown that if you are in an accident while using safety belts, your chances of
being injured are greatly reduced. Under Connecticut driving law, it is illegal
to drive or to be a front-seat passenger, without wearing safety belts.
If your vehicle has a two-part safety belt system, be sure to wear both the
lap-belt and the shoulder-belt. Wearing either part alone greatly reduces your
If you have an automatic shoulder belt, be sure to buckle your lap belt as
well. Otherwise, in a collision you could slide out of the belt and be
In addition to protecting you from injury as a driver, safety belts help you
keep control of the vehicle. If you are struck from the side or make a quick
turn, the force could push you sideways. You cannot steer the vehicle if you are
not behind the wheel.
Connecticut driving law requires that safety belts must be worn even if the
vehicle is equipped with air bags. While air bags are good protection against
hitting the steering wheel, dashboard or windshield, they do not protect you if
you are hit from the side or rear or if the vehicle rolls over. And, an air bag
will not keep you behind the wheel in these situations.
Connecticut driving law requires children to wear proper child restraint and
safety systems while riding in a vehicle. Any child under age 4 and weighing
less than 40 pounds must be in a child restraint system that conforms to all
applicable federal motor vehicle standards.
Children under 4 years old and weighing more than 40 pounds must use an
approved child restraint system or a seat safety belt. All children must ride
securely buckled in the back seat of vehicles equipped with passenger-side
Under Connecticut driving law, drivers found violating these laws face
penalties, including fines and license suspension.
Connecticut driving law also requires that the operator as well as any front
seat passenger shall wear seat belts. In addition to complying with Connecticut
traffic laws requiring child restraint systems in vehicles, drivers must ensure
that any passenger between 4 and 16 years old is wearing a seat belt.
For More Information
Connecticut Department of Transportation