Wisconsin Auto Driving Laws
Wisconsin's Point System
Under Wisconsin driving law, demerit points are assessed to drivers when
convicted of a moving violation of Wisconsin traffic laws, beginning on the date
of the violation.
The courts send the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) Division
of Motor Vehicles records of all convictions for moving Wisconsin traffic law
Persons who hold a probationary license are assessed double points for the
second and all subsequent points.
When 12 or more demerit points are accumulated in one year, a suspension of
the driver privilege is required, for a minimum of two months.
Convictions for violations of Wisconsin driving law remain on the driver
records for five years from the date of conviction. However, alcohol related and
some commercial violations remain on the record for 10 years to life.
In accordance with Wisconsin driving law, the point total may be reduced by
three points for attending an approved traffic safety course.
Only one reduction is allowed in a five year period for points assessed to
the A, B, C, D classification.
One reduction of three points is also allowed in a five year period for
points assessed for class M (Motorcycle) violations of Wisconsin traffic
Under Wisconsin driving law, no point reduction is permitted if in one year a
person accumulates 12 or more points which would require suspension.
Points Assessed for Convictions
Convictions for violations of Wisconsin traffic laws and the points assessed
include, but are not limited to the following:
Convictions - Points
- Attempting to elude an officer - 6
- Failure to perform duty after accident - 6
- Operating while revoked or suspended - 6
- Operating under the influence of intoxicant or drugs - 6
- Reckless driving or racing - 6
- Speeding 20 mph or more over limit - 6
- Violation of occupational license - 6
- Deviating from traffic lane - 4
- Driving on wrong side of highway or street - 4
- Failure to yield right of way - 4
- Failure to yield to emergency vehicle - 4
- Imprudent driving, too fast for conditions, failure to have vehicle under
control - 4
- Inattentive driving - 4
- Failure by operator to stop for school bus when red lights are flashing - 4
- Speeding 11 through 19 mph over limit - 4
- Unnecessary acceleration - 4
- Arterial or traffic control violation - 3
- Driving wrong way on one way street - 3
- Failure to dim lights - 3
- Failure to give proper signal - 3
- Following too closely - 3
- Illegal passing - 3
- Improper brakes or lights - 3
- Operating with expired license or without any license - 3
- Operating with multiple licenses - 3
- Prohibited or illegal turn - 3
- Speeding 1 through 10 mph over limit - 3
- Violation of restriction - 3
- Deprive any vehicle use of full traffic lane - 2
- Parking on highway in traffic lane, defective speedometer - 2
- License not in person's immediate possession - 0
- No registration plate light - 0
Reinstate a Revoked or Suspended Driver License
Under Wisconsin driving law, to reinstate a suspended Wisconsin driving
privilege, filing proof of insurance is not required except for suspensions
under the safety responsibility and damage judgment laws.
Under Wisconsin driving law, to reinstate a revoked Wisconsin driving
privilege, a person must file proof of insurance (SR22 form) in all cases,
except for the first offense of operating while intoxicated and for all
noncompliance (interview/arrest/driver safety plan) revocations.
For More Information
Wisconsin Department of Transportation