North Dakota Auto Driving Laws
Your driving license or privileges shall be suspended upon an accumulation of
twelve (12) points for a period of seven (7) days for each point over eleven
For drivers under the age of 18, driving license or privileges will be
canceled upon an accumulation of six (6) or more points.
Point Schedule for Speeding Violations
Under North Dakota driving law, points are assigned for speeding violations
according to the following schedule.
Speed (mph) - Points
- 1-10 mph over limit - 0
- 11-15 mph over limit - 1
- 16-20 mph over limit - 3
- 21-25 mph over limit - 5
- 26-35 mph over limit - 9
- 36-45 mph over limit - 12
- 46 mph plus over limit - 15
Under North Dakota driving law, points are assigned for other violations of
North Dakota traffic laws according to the following schedules.
Violations of North Dakota driving law resulting in assignment of one
- Operator/Responsible party failing to provide child restraint device.
- Failing to display license plates.
- Unlawful parking in specified prohibited places.
- Leaving motor vehicle improperly unattended on an open highway.
- Opening or leaving motor vehicle doors open when unsafe to do so.
- Nonmoving violation of parking in a space assigned for the mobility
- Failing to dim head lamps.
Violations of North Dakota traffic laws resulting in assignment of two
- Disobeying North Dakota driving law traffic control signals.
- Failing to use care required.
- Failing to yield-right-of-way to funeral procession.
- Knowingly driving illegally modified vehicle.
- Open container. (Driver)
- Violating hazardous material regulations.
- Knowingly operating an unsafe vehicle.
- Improperly operating or unlawfully carrying passengers or packages on a
- Improperly operating a motorcycle in laned traffic.
- Carrying a passenger on a motorcycle not equipped with passenger footrests.
- Operating a motorcycle without protective headgear.
- Permitting unauthorized minor or person to drive.
- Unlawful stopping, standing, or parking on an open highway.
- Knowingly driving with defective, non-existent or unlawful equipment.
- Knowingly driving with defective brakes.
- Disregarding lawful command of police officer.
- Overtaking where prohibited or unlawful.
- Driving on wrong side of road.
- Failing to yield right-of-way.
Violations of North Dakota driving law resulting in assignment of three
- Exhibition driving on highway.
- Violating North Dakota driving law corrective lens restriction.
- Failing to stop at RR crossing.
Violations of North Dakota traffic laws resulting in assignment of four
- Violating or exceeding restriction contained in a restricted certificate or
license or Instructional Permit.
- Clinging to other vehicle while riding a motorcycle.
- Operating a motor vehicle without a license.
Violations of North Dakota driving law resulting in assignment of six
- Overtaking a school bus.
- Failing to give immediate notice of accident.
- Careless driving. (North Dakota Driving Law Basic Rule)
- No liability insurance - 6, 12 or 14.
Violations of North Dakota traffic laws resulting in assignment of eight or
- Reckless driving - 8.
- Racing in a motor vehicle on a highway - 10.
- Aggravated reckless driving - 12.
- Leaving the scene of accident involving property damage - 14.
- Leaving the scene of accident involving injury or death - 18.
- Fleeing from law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle - 24.
Under North Dakota driving law, no points are assigned for violations of
North Dakota traffic laws not listed above.
For More Information
North Dakota Department of Transportation