North Carolina Auto Driving Laws
Suspensions and Revocations
In addition to criminal penalties that the court might mandate, conviction of
certain traffic offenses of North Carolina driving law will result in the loss
of your driving privilege.
Revocation of Driving Privilege
Under North Carolina traffic laws, your driving privilege will be revoked for
at least 30 days if you are convicted of:
- driving any vehicle more than 15 mph over the speed limit, if you are
driving at a speed higher than 55 mph.
It will be taken for 60 days if you are convicted of:
- a second charge of speeding over 55 mph and more than 15 mph above the speed
limit within one year; or
- speeding plus reckless driving on the same occasion.
Suspension of Driver License
In accordance with North Carolina traffic laws, the DMV can also suspend your
license for the following:
- Two convictions of speeding over 55 mph during the same year;
- One conviction of speeding over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless
driving within a year;
- A conviction of willful racing with another motor vehicle, whether it is
pre-arranged or unplanned.
- A suspended court sentence or part of a sentence mandating that you must not
operate a motor vehicle for a specified period of time; and/or
- A conviction for speeding over 75 mph.
In accordance with North Carolina driving law, in cases like the above, the
DMV may suspend your driving privilege as soon as it receives the conviction
report from the court. If your driving privilege is revoked, you may have the
right to a hearing in the judicial district where you reside.
To request a hearing, call or write to the DMV in Raleigh. You will be
notified by mail of the time and place for the hearing. At the hearing you may
state any facts that you think should entitle you to driving privileges or to a
reduction of the suspension period.
North Carolina driving law stipulates that if you believe your driving
privilege should not have been taken and the hearing gives you no help, you may
appeal the DMV's decision within thirty (30) days to the Superior Court of the
county where you live. The court will review your case to see if there were
proper grounds for taking your driving privilege.
Offense - Suspension Time
- Driving while under the influence of an impairing substance (first offense)
- 1 year
- Driving while under the influence of an impairing substance (second offense)
- 4 years
- Driving while under the influence of an impairing substance (third offense)
- Manslaughter - 1 year
- Death by vehicle - 1 year
- Manslaughter while under the influence of an impairing substance - Permanent
- Assault with a motor vehicle - Permanent
- Speeding in excess of 55 mph and at least 15 mph over the legal limit while
attempting to avoid arrest - 1 year
- Prearranged racing with another motor vehicle on the highway - *3 years
- Watching, betting on or loaning a car for prearranged racing - *3 years
- Willful refusal to submit to a blood or breath test - 1 year
- Two charges of reckless driving committed within 12 months - 1 year
- Getting a license or learner's permit under false pretense - 1 year
* In accordance with North Carolina driving law, when an officer finds that
someone has loaned or is operating a motor vehicle willfully in prearranged
racing, he/she will seize the vehicle. If the person is convicted, the court may
order the vehicle sold at public auction.
In accordance with North Carolina driving law, convictions occurring outside
North Carolina may result in your license being suspended or revoked just as if
the violations occurred in this state.
Failure to Appear and/or to Pay a Fine
North Carolina driving law stipulates that your driving privilege will be
revoked when the DMV receives notification from the court that you have failed
to appear in court or to pay fines for a citation you received in North Carolina
or another state.
In the case of failure to appear and/or to pay a fine, your driving
privileges remain revoked until the DMV receives notice that you have complied
with the citation.
Complying with the citation does not relieve you of the consequences for the
actual offense, if you are convicted.
Provisional Licensee (under age 18)
In accordance with North Carolina driving law, there are other rules that
apply to persons under 18 years of age.
Under North Carolina traffic laws, if you are a provisional licensee, your
license may be suspended for:
- 30 days, upon conviction of a second moving violation occurring within a
- 90 days, upon conviction of a third moving violation occurring within a
12-month period; and
- six months, upon conviction of a fourth moving violation occurring within a
Some examples of moving violations:
- passing a stopped school bus;
- reckless driving;
- following too closely;
- driving on the wrong side of the road;
- illegal passing;
- running through a stop sign or red light;
- failure to yield right-of-way;
- failure to stop for an emergency siren; and speeding.
Driver License Points
North Carolina driving law stipulates that if you are convicted of certain
motor vehicle violations in North Carolina, driver license points are placed
against your driving record. If you accumulate seven points, you may be assigned
to a Driver Improvement Clinic. The clinic fee is $25.
Upon satisfactory completion of the clinic, three points are deducted from
your driving record. If you accumulate as many as twelve points within a
three-year period, your license may be suspended. The accumulation of eight
points within three years following the reinstatement of your license can result
in a second suspension.
In accordance with North Carolina driving law, if your driver license is
suspended by the point system, it may be taken for:
- 60 days for the first suspension;
- 6 months for the second; and
- 12 months for the third.
When your driving privilege is reinstated, all previous driver license points
North Carolina driving law stipulates that points are given for the following
Conviction - Point Value
- Passing a stopped school bus loading or unloading children - 5
- Reckless driving - 4
- Hit and run, property damage only - 4
- Following too closely - 4
- Driving on wrong side of road - 4
- Illegal passing - 4
- Running through stop sign - 3
- Speeding more than 55 mph - 3
- Speeding through a school zone - 3
- Failure to yield right of way - 3
- No driver's license or license expired more than one year - 3
- Running through red light - 3
- Failure to stop for siren - 3
- Speeding through safety zone - 3
- Failure to report accident where such report is required - 3
- No liability insurance - 3
- All other moving violations - 2
- Littering involving a motor vehicle - 1
Insurance companies use a different point system to determine insurance
rates. If you have any questions concerning insurance points, contact your
For More Information
North Carolina Department Of Transportation