Nevada Auto Driving Laws
The Nevada DMV operates an extensive demerit point system as part of our
driver improvement program. When we receive a conviction notice from a court,
the offense is entered on your driving record and demerit points are
Under Nevada driving law, when 12 months have elapsed from the date of a
conviction, the demerits for that violation are deleted from the total demerits
accumulated. Convictions for violations of Nevada traffic laws remain part of
your permanent driving record.
You will receive a mailed notification from the DMV's Driver License Review
Section when you reach 3 or more points. If you have accumulated between 3 and
11 points, you may have 3 points removed by completing a DMV-approved traffic
safety course - only if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with
a court of law.
Under Nevada driving law, when you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month
period, your driver license is automatically suspended for 6 months. You will be
mailed a certified letter before your license is suspended and have the right to
a hearing through the Office of Administrative Hearings.
Update: New Nevada Seat Belt Law for 2004 - Nevada driving
law requires seat belt use by all occupants in a vehicle. Children under age 5
who weigh less than 40 pounds must be in an approved safety seat which is
properly installed. Children under 6 who weigh less than 60 pounds will be
required to ride in an approved safety seat or booster seat beginning June 1,
Offenses and Point Values
The following is a partial list of violations of Nevada traffic laws, showing
the demerit points that are assigned to your driving record.
- 1-10 mph over posted limit - 1
- 11-15 mph over posted limit - 2
- 16-20 mph over posted limit - 3
- 21 mph or more over posted limit - 4
- Speeding 1-15 mph over posted limit in a school zone - 4
- Speeding 16 mph or more over posted limit in a school zone - 6
- Reckless Driving - 8
- Careless Driving - 6
- Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident - 6
- Following too closely - 4
- Failure to yield right-of-way - 4
- Passing a school bus when signals are flashing - 4
- Failure to yield to a pedestrian - 4
- Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign - 4
- Impeding traffic, driving too slowly - 2
- Failure to dim headlights - 2
See Violation Codes for a complete list of offenses and
Attending Traffic Safety School
Nevada driving law stipulates that if you have accumulated between 3 and 11
points you may have 3 points removed by completing a traffic safety course only
if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with a court of law. If
the course is required to complete a plea bargain with a court, no credit is
The school must be one of those approved by DMV. You may attend traffic
school only once in a 12-month period to remove points from your record.
Under Nevada driving law, attending traffic safety school removes 3 demerit
points. However, the record of the conviction for violation of Nevada traffic
laws remains part of your driving history.
Types of Suspensions/Revocations
In accordance with Nevada driving law, you may lose your Nevada driving
privilege and license under certain circumstances. In all instances you would be
notified by certified mail and have the right to a hearing. Please be sure we
have your correct address.
Examples of driver license suspensions and revocations under Nevada driving
law are listed below. Juveniles may also have license issuance delayed for some
offenses of Nevada traffic laws.
- Driving Under the Influence - If breath, blood, or urine tests reveal you
are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol or if you are convicted of
- Failure to Appear - If you receive a traffic ticket and do not pay the fine
on time or do not appear in court when required.
- Security Deposit - If an accident occurs with more than $750.00 in damage or
bodily injury regardless of property damage amount, and you do not have
liability insurance, driver license and vehicle registration plates are
- Failure to Maintain - If you are required to provide proof of financial
responsibility because of a license suspension or revocation and fail to do so.
- Child Support - If you are in arrears in court ordered child support
- Demerit Points - If you accumulate more than 12 Demerit Points in 12 months.
- Graffiti - If you are found guilty of a graffiti violation.
- Firearms - If a juvenile is found guilty of certain offenses related to
- Alcohol and Drugs - If a juvenile is found guilty of buying, drinking, or
possessing alcohol; or using, possessing, selling, or distributing any
- Truancy - Juveniles can lose their license or have its issuance delayed for
habitual absence from school.
Reinstating Your License
You must physically receive a license before your driving privilege is
reinstated. Your privilege will remain suspended or revoked indefinitely until
you comply with all reinstatement requirements, including actually receiving a
license. Under Nevada driving law, there is no time limit or statute of
If your license is suspended or revoked in accordance with Nevada driving law
because of an active court case such as Failure to Appear, you must resolve all
of the criminal charges before your license can be reinstated.
In accordance with Nevada traffic laws, DMV does not notify drivers when
their suspension or revocation period has ended. The notice you receive when the
action is first taken clearly states the beginning and ending dates. Under
Nevada driving law, drivers with multiple suspensions or revocations must wait
for all periods to end before applying for reinstatement.
For More Information
Nevada Department Of Transportation