auto loans - auto financing

Home

Auto Loan Calculator

Loan Glossary

Auto Buying vs. Leasing

Dealer Inquiries

Affiliate Inquiries

Auto FAQs

State Driving Laws

Site Map

Privacy Policy

More Info

Auto Resources

Auto Loan Links

Nebraska Auto Driving Laws

The Financial Responsibility Division

The goal of the Financial Responsibility Division is to identify those individuals who do not drive safely; to assist individuals in becoming safe drivers; or to deny driving privileges to those who cannot or will not drive safely; and aid the courts in collecting fines for violations of Nebraska traffic laws and support order payments.

Point Revocations

Under Nebraska driving law, your operator's license and/or operating privileges can be revoked for accumulating 12 or more points within any two (2) year time period. Points are calculated from the date of violation of any Nebraska traffic laws, not the hearing date.

Upon receipt of a conviction of a violation (in Nebraska or any other state that is a member of the Compact), the violation is placed on the driving record and points are assessed.

In accordance with Nebraska driving law, a driver may be granted a two (2)-point credit after successfully completing a DMV approved Driver Improvement Course. This course must be completed prior to the violation that would assess the 12th point and can only be taken once every five (5) years.

The Point Revocation is for six (6) months for a first offense. Under Nebraska driving law, driver's who are revoked under the Nebraska Point System for the second time within five (5) years are revoked for a three (3) year time period.

Driver's that are revoked under the Nebraska Point System can apply for an Employment Drive Permit and/or a Medical Hardship Permit if there are no other open suspensions / revocations / impoundments on their record.

Reinstatement Requirements:

  1. Surrender operator's license/permit or sign an affidavit of lost license if you no longer have possession of the license. This does not apply if the license has expired.
  2. Successfully complete an eight (8) hour DMV approved Driver Improvement Course after the date of revocation and have the school submit a DMV Certificate of Completion.
  3. File proof of financial responsibility, which is to remain on file for three (3) years from the date of eligibility. This is normally provided in the form of a SR-22 Certificate of Insurance. Failure to comply with this requirement would result in the suspension of the operating privileges for an Insurance Cancellation.
  4. Pay a $125.00 reinstatement fee. Payment of the reinstatement fee needs to be in the form of a cashier's check, bank draft, money order made payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. This office does not accept personal or business account checks. Once reinstated, you will receive a letter of clearance from this office.

The Nebraska Point System

In accordance with Nebraska driving law, the following points will be assessed to driving records for the violations of Nebraska traffic laws shown:

Violation - Points Assessed

  • Motor Vehicle Homicide - 2 Points
  • Driving Under the Influence - 3rd Offense or Subsequent Offense** - 12 Points
  • Failure to report an accident within 12 hours to law enforcement - 8 Points
  • Failure to render aid in accident you are involved in - 6 Points
  • Driving Under the Influence - 1st and 2nd Offense - 6 Points
  • Willful reckless driving (deliberate & intentional) - 6 Points
  • Reckless driving (rash, heedless, dangerous)  - 5 Points
  • Careless driving (inattentive, forgetful, inconsiderate) - 4 Points
  • Leave the scene of an accident, but submit report within 12 hours - 4 Points
  • Failure to yield to a pedestrian with bodily injury to the pedestrian - 4 points
  • Negligent driving (indifferent, offhand, neglectful) - 3 Points
  • Failure to yield to a pedestrian with no bodily injury to pedestrian - 2 points
  • Failure to submit to an alcohol content test - 1 Point

** Third Offense drunken driving in violation of any city or village ordinance or of section 60-6,6196, as disclosed by the records of the director, regardless of whether the trial court found the same to be a third offense.

Speeding

Under Nebraska driving law, points are assessed for speeding on the basis of miles per hour [MPH] over the posted speed limit and the type of road:

Business & Residential District

  • 1 thru 5 MPH  - 1 Point
  • Over 5 thru 10 MPH - 2 Points
  • Over 10 MPH - 3 Points

County Roads / State Highways 

  • 1 thru 10 MPH - 1 Point
  • Over 10 thru 15 MPH - 2 Points
  • Over 15 MPH - 3 Points

Interstate Highway 

  • 1 thru 10 MPH - 1 Point
  • Over 10 thru 15 MPH - 2 Points
  • Over 15 MPH - 3 Points

Operating a vehicle with an expired license or if no license has ever been issued - 1 Point

All other violations of Nebraska driving law (excluding parking, muffler, no valid operator's license on person, or for violations involving occupant protection system, motorcycle or a moped protective helmet) - 1 Point

Assessment of Points

Upon conviction of a violation of Nebraska driving law, points are assessed to a driving record as of the date of the violation. Convictions for violations of Nebraska traffic laws remain on the driving record for five (5) years.

Accumulating 12 points in a two (2) year time period (counting from the last date of violation) causes automatic revocation of the operator's license under the Nebraska Point System.

Under Nebraska driving law, when you are convicted of a traffic violation in another state, points are assessed against your driving record as if the violation occurred in Nebraska.

Two (2) Point Credit

Under Nebraska driving law, any person who has fewer than 12 points assessed against their driving record can voluntarily enroll in a DMV approved Driver Improvement Course (approved course must consist of at least eight [8] hours of instruction).

Upon notification of successful completion of such course from the conducting organization, the department shall reduce by two (2) the number of points assessed against the driver within the previous two (2) years.

If the driver has only one (1) point assessed within the previous two (2) years - the department shall reduce by the number of points assessed by one (1).

In accordance with Nebraska driving law, this program can only be utilized once every five (5) years and the course must be completed prior to the date of violation of any Nebraska traffic laws that would assess the 12th point on the driving record.

For More Information

DMV - Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles

(Source: StateDrivingLaw.com)


Auto Loan Home Page | Auto Loan Calculator | Loan Glossary | Auto Buying vs. Leasing | Dealer Inquiries |
Affiliate Inquiries | Auto Loan FAQs | State Driving Laws | Site Map | Privacy Policy | More Info |
Auto Resources | Auto Loan Links


© 2018 AutoCredit.com