Missouri Auto Driving Laws
Driving is a privilege, not a right. You can lose your driving privilege if
you disobey Missouri traffic laws.
The Point System
The Department of Revenue adds points to your record when it receives notice
that you were convicted of a violation of Missouri driving law while your
vehicle was in motion.
The number of points you receive depends on the conviction. For example, you
may receive 2 points if you are convicted of speeding (3 points for a state
violation). But you may receive 12 points and lose your driver license if you
are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident.
The following are some examples of some Missouri driving law violations and
their point values:
Violation - Point Value
- Speeding - 3 points
- Careless & Imprudent Driving - 4 points
- Knowingly Allowing an Unlicensed Driver to Operate a Vehicle - 4 points
- A Felony Involving a Motor Vehicle - 12 points
- Obtaining a Driver License by Misrepresentation - 12 points
- Operating a Vehicle With a Suspended or Revoked Driver License - 12 points
When You Have Four or More Points
If you accumulate a total of 4 points in 12 months, the Department of Revenue
will send you a point accumulation advisory.
If you accumulate a total of 8 or more points in 18 months, the Department of
Revenue will suspend your driving privilege.
- 1st suspension - 30 days
- 2nd suspension - 60 days
- 3rd or more suspensions - 90 days
In accordance with Missouri driving law, the Department of Revenue will
revoke your driving privilege for one year if you accumulate:
- 12 or more points in 12 months
- 18 or more points in 24 months
- 24 or more points in 36 months
To reinstate your driving privilege for a point suspension or revocation you
must provide the following:
- Proof of insurance (SR-22)
- $20 reinstatement fee
- Proof of insurance (SR-22)
- $45 reinstatement fee
- Completion of a substance abuse traffic offender program (SATOP) or
Driving While Your License is Suspended or Revoked
Missouri driving law stipulates that if you drive while your license is
suspended, your driving privilege may be revoked for one year after conviction.
If you continue to drive while your license is revoked, you may be convicted of
a felony and have your license revoked again for one year.
When your driving privilege is reinstated, the Department of Revenue reduces
your total points to 4. Every year you drive without getting new points on your
record for violations of Missouri traffic laws, the points will be reduced.
- 1 year - total remaining points reduced by one-third
- 2 years - remaining points reduced by one-half
- 3 years - points reduced to zero
Failure to Appear in Court for Traffic Violations (FACT)
When you fail to appear in court for a moving violation of Missouri driving
law, the court will notify you within 10 days of your failure to comply and you
will have 30 days to pay the fines before the court notifies the Driver and
Vehicle Services Bureau. When notified, the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau
will immediately suspend your driving privilege.
If you fail to comply, your driving privilege will be suspended until the
- Proof that the ticket is paid and A $20 reinstatement fee.
Reinstatement of Driving Privilege (FACT)
In accordance with Missouri driving law, your driving privilege may be
reinstated for FACT in one of three ways.
1. Take the reinstatement requirements to a branch or fee office. The
information will be faxed to the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau for review.
A reinstatement letter will be prepared and faxed to the local license office to
be given to you.
If your driver license was previously surrendered upon conviction for a
violation of any Missouri traffic laws, a temporary driving receipt will also be
faxed. Your driver license will be mailed to you from the Central Office in
2. Mail the reinstatement requirements to the Driver and Vehicle Services
Bureau, PO Box 3950, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-3950.
3. Bring the reinstatement requirements to the Driver and Vehicle Services
Bureau, Harry S Truman State Office Building, Room 470, 301 West High Street,
Jefferson City, Missouri. Office hours: 7:45 a.m. until 4:45 p.m., Monday
through Friday (except holidays).
For More Information
Missouri Department of Transportation