auto loans - auto financing

Home

Auto Loan Calculator

Loan Glossary

Auto Buying vs. Leasing

Dealer Inquiries

Affiliate Inquiries

Auto FAQs

State Driving Laws

Site Map

Privacy Policy

More Info

Auto Resources

Auto Loan Links

Testimonials

Louisiana Auto Driving Laws

Driving Offenses

Vehicular Homicide

Under R.S. 14:32.1 of Louisiana driving law, vehicular homicide is the killing of a human by an operator of any motor vehicle, aircraft, watercraft, or other means of conveyance, whether or not there is any intent to cause death or great bodily harm.

Penalties for violations of these Louisiana traffic laws include fines of not less than $2,000 nor more than $15,000 and imprisonment for not less than two years nor more than 20 years. At least one year jail time will be mandatory.

Vehicle Negligent Injury

Under R.S. 14:30.1 of Louisiana driving law, vehicle negligent injury is inflicting any injury by an operator of any motor vehicle, aircraft, water-craft, or other means of conveyance when the offender is under the influence of alcohol or drugs and/or the offender's blood alcohol concentration is 0.10% or more.

Penalties for violations of these Louisiana traffic laws include fines of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both.

First Degree Vehicle Negligent Injury

Under R.S. 14:39.2 of Louisiana driving law, first degree vehicle negligent injury is inflicting of serious bodily injury by an operator of any motor vehicle, aircraft, water-craft, or other means of conveyance when the offender is under the influence of alcohol or drugs and/or the offender's blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or more.

Penalties for violations of these Louisiana traffic laws include fines of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.

Reckless Driving

Under Louisiana driving law, if you operate a vehicle in a criminally negligent or reckless manner, you are committing a crime punishable by a fine and jail.

Hit and Run Driving

Under Louisiana driving law, if you are involved in or cause an accident, you are required by law to stop, identify yourself and render reasonable aid. Failure to do so may result in a fine and time in jail.

Flight from an Officer

Under Louisiana driving law, a motor vehicle driver who refuses to stop, knowing a police officer has given a signal for him to stop, has committed a crime punishable by a fine and time in jail.

Losing Your Driving Privileges

The following is a list of various violations of Louisiana driving law for which your driving privileges will be suspended:

  • Conviction of driving while intoxicated (DWI).
  • Failure to stop for a school bus loading or unloading children.
  • Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
  • Any felony committed while operating a motor vehicle.
  • Failure to stop and render assistance at an accident, in which you were involved, that results in the injury or death of a person.
  • Three convictions of reckless driving committed within a 12 month period.
  • Unlawful use of a driver's license.
  • Making a false statement or concealing a material fact on an application for a driver's license.
  • Failure to answer a traffic law charge.
  • Driving in violation of a driver's license restriction.
  • Refusal to take alcohol analysis test when arrested for DWI, or after submitting to the test where the results show a BAC level of 0.10% or more for those 21 years of age or older or 0.02 % or more for those younger than 21 years of age.
  • Failure to comply with the financial responsibility law when required.
  • Committing an offense in another state which, if committed in this state, would be grounds for suspension or revocation.
  • Altering information on the license.
  • Driving with a suspended driver's license.

Under Louisiana driving law, the surrender of an individual's actual driver's license will not be required to begin the period of suspension and/or disqualification. In accordance with Louisiana traffic laws, the suspension and/or disqualification dates can be given:

  • upon receipt of the individual's most current operator's license (in-state or out-of-state),
  • upon expiration of the operator's license, on the date a statement of non-possession is received,
  • after the expiration date the prior suspension or disqualification, or
  • 30 days after the date of the notice of suspension, depending upon the individual record.

EACH conviction of driving under suspension will cause your suspension period to be extended for one year. Driving while your license is suspended will be cause for arrest, a court fine and/or time in jail.

In accordance with Louisiana driving law, upon expiration of any suspension period, a reinstatement fee will be required before your driving privileges can be reinstated.

For More Information

Louisiana Department of Transportation

(Source: StateDrivingLaw.com)


Auto Loan Home Page | Auto Loan Calculator | Loan Glossary | Auto Buying vs. Leasing | Dealer Inquiries |
Affiliate Inquiries | Auto Loan FAQs | State Driving Laws | Site Map | Privacy Policy | More Info |
Auto Resources | Auto Loan Links |
Testimonials

© 2018 AutoCredit.com