Kentucky Auto Driving Laws
Suspension and Revocation of License
In accordance with Kentucky driving law, your license may be Suspended or
Revoked for any of the following violations of Kentucky traffic laws:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or other substances (DUI).
- Manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
- Perjury or false affidavit to the Transportation Cabinet.
- Felony involving use of a motor vehicle.
- Reckless driving - three convictions within twelve months.
- Leaving the scene of an accident, failure to stop and disclose identity.
- Theft of a motor vehicle or any part thereof.
- Failure to maintain Liability Insurance.
- Failure to satisfy a Citation or Court Summons.
- Failure to enroll in or complete State Traffic School upon sentence by the
- Failure to complete a Graduated Licensing course for newly-licensed drivers
16 and 17 years of age.
Any person failing to satisfy a judgment rendered against him for damages
resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle within 60 days from the date of
said judgment will have his driving privilege suspended by the Transportation
The suspension will remain in effect until 15 years have elapsed, or until
the judgment has been satisfied. Upon satisfaction, a court-attested copy of the
satisfaction is to be sent to the Cabinet, and the necessary reinstatement
procedures must be followed.
The Kentucky Driving Law Point System
The purpose of the point system is to identify and assist those drivers who
need improvement before it becomes necessary to suspend their driving privilege
in accordance with Kentucky driving law. It serves to protect the safe and
sensible drivers and correct those who are reckless and irresponsible.
Under the Kentucky traffic laws point system, the Transportation Cabinet,
Division of Driver Licensing, keeps a record of all moving traffic violations on
each driver. These records are based on reports of traffic convictions,
forfeiture of bail, or payment of fine, with or without court appearances, which
are forwarded to the Division of Driver Licensing by the courts throughout the
Assignment of point value to various offenses of Kentucky driving law is made
to impress upon drivers that their records are being watched, and unless they
comply with Kentucky traffic laws, they may develop a bad driving record,
leading to the suspension of their license.
Under Kentucky driving law, any driver accumulating as many as six (6) points
may receive a form letter from the Division of Driver Licensing advising him
that immediate action should be taken to improve his driving.
The driver may be required to appear for an interview with a representative
of the Cabinet to determine his real driving problems.
At this interview, the Transportation Cabinet representative attempts to
determine if participation in a State Traffic School program would benefit the
driver. In accordance with Kentucky traffic laws, if he fails to appear for the
interview, his driving privilege shall be suspended for a period of six (6)
Violations of Kentucky Driving Law and Their Point Values
In accordance with Kentucky driving law, conviction for one of the following
serious violations of Kentucky traffic laws may result in suspension of the
driving privilege for the period of time indicated:
- Racing 90 Days
- Speeding 26 MPH or more over speed limit 90 Days
- Attempting to elude law enforcement officer by use of motor vehicle 90 Days
Under Kentucky driving law, conviction for any one of the following motor
traffic offenses shall be cause for assessment of the points indicated:
Violation Type - Points
- Speeding 15 MPH or less over the limit - 3
- Speeding 1-10 MPH over the limit on limited access highway - 0/Fine if
- Speeding 11-15 MPH over the limit on limited access highway - 3
- Speeding 15 MPH or over the limit on limited access highway in a commercial
motor vehicle - 3
- Speeding 16 MPH or more, but less than 26 MPH, over the limit - 6
- Failure to stop for church or school bus - 6
- Improper passing - 5
- Reckless driving - 4
- Driving on wrong side of road - 4
- Following too closely - 4
- Failure to yield to emergency vehicle - 4
- Changing drivers in a moving vehicle - 4
- Vehicle not under control - 4
- Stop violation (electrical signal, railroad crossing, stop sign) - 3
- Failure to yield - 3
- Failure to obey a traffic control device - 3
- Wrong way on one-way street - 3
- Too fast for conditions - 3
- Too slow for conditions - 3
- Improper start - 3
- Improper driving - 3
- Careless driving - 3
- Failure to yield left lane - 3
- Improper lane usage - 3
- Improper use of left lane on limited access highway - 3
- Failure to illuminate headlights - 3
- Failure to dim headlights - 3
- Any other moving hazardous violations - 3
- Commission of a moving hazardous violation which involves an accident - 6
- Combination of two or more hazardous violations in any one occurrence - 6
Points assessed under the Kentucky Point System expire two (2) years from the
date of conviction. However, under Kentucky driving law the conviction remains
part of the driver's record for a period of five (5) years for an operator's
license and ten (10) years for a commercial driver's license.
Accumulation of Points
Under Kentucky driving law, if a person of eighteen or more years accumulates
six or more points within a two-year period, the Transportation Cabinet may send
a letter that shall advise him of the number of penalty points on his driving
history record, and shall inform him of the penalties which may be imposed if he
were to accumulate twelve points within two years.
Under Kentucky driving law, if a person under the age of eighteen accumulates
four or more points within a two-year period, the Transportation Cabinet may
send a letter that shall advise him of the number of penalty points on his
driving history record, and shall inform him of the penalties which may be
imposed if he were to accumulate more than six prior to his eighteenth
Under Kentucky driving law, if a person of eighteen or more years accumulates
twelve points within a period of two years, or a person less than eighteen
accumulates more than six points in a period of two years, the Cabinet may
suspend the driving privilege for a period of six months for the first
accumulation of points, one year for the second accumulation of points, and two
years for any subsequent accumulation of points within a two-year period.
Second and Subsequent Suspension
For any offense of Kentucky driving law for which the suspension of the
driving privilege is six months or less for the first offense, the second
conviction of a similar offense shall result in a suspension period of not less
than one year, and any subsequent conviction for any similar offense not less
than two years.
In accordance with Kentucky driving law, if the Cabinet suspends the driving
privilege of a person more than one (1) time, the suspension times shall run
After a hearing, under Kentucky driving law the department may require the
driver to be placed on "probation" in lieu of suspension and attend a driver
improvement clinic (State Traffic School) approved by the Transportation
Under Kentucky driving law, once a driver has been placed on "probation" by
the Cabinet, he shall not be considered for probation again until a lapse of two
(2) years from the ending date of any previous probation period granted, whether
served or not.
Other Violations of Kentucky Traffic Laws Which Could Result in Your Driving
Privilege Being Suspended or Revoked
Violation Type - Action
- False Application Suspension - 6 months
- Racing A Motor Vehicle Upon A Public Highway - Possible 90 Day Suspension
- Attempting To Elude Police Officer Possible - 90 Day Suspension
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident, Failure to Stop And Disclose Your Identity
and/or Failure to Stop and Render Aid Suspension - 6 months
- Failure to Appear Pursuant to a Citation or Summons Issued by a Law
Enforcement Officer of this Commonwealth or Any Other Jurisdiction - Indefinite
- Failure to Maintain Liability Insurance - $500 Fine or (1st offense) 10-90
Days in Jail No Suspension Notation on Driving Record
- Failure to Maintain Liability Insurance - $1,000 Fine or (2nd offense) 90
Days in Jail Plus 1 Year Suspension
- Failure to Enroll or Complete State Training School - Indefinite Suspension
- Failure to Pay Child Support - Indefinite Suspension
For More Information
Kentucky's Transportation Cabinet