auto loans - auto financing

Home

Auto Loan Calculator

Loan Glossary

Auto Buying vs. Leasing

Dealer Inquiries

Affiliate Inquiries

Auto FAQs

State Driving Laws

Site Map

Privacy Policy

More Info

Auto Resources

Auto Loan Links

Testimonials

Delaware Auto Driving Laws

Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program

The Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program is designed by law to identify problem drivers, to change the problem drivers' behavior by providing information and training opportunities and, if necessary, to progressively impose sanctions as more convictions/points are accumulated on individuals driving record.

The goal of the program is crash prevention. The steps in the program are geared to the seriousness of the driving record and may result in an advisory letter, mandatory suspension, and/or completion of a behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course.

Delaware driving law requires that a reinstatement fee of $25.00 must be paid to the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to reinstate the license.

Delaware Point System

In accordance with Delaware driving law, the following violations will result in the number of points shown will be accessed against your driving record.

Violation - Points

  • Speeding 1-9 miles per hour (MPH) over posted limit - 2
  • Speeding 10-14 MPH over posted limit - 4
  • Speeding 15-l9 MPH over posted limit - 5
  • Speeding 20 MPH or more over posted limit - 5
  • Passing a Stopped School Bus - 6
  • Reckless Driving - 6
  • Aggressive Driving - 6
  • Disregarding Stop Sign or Red Light - 3
  • Other Moving Violations - 2

Calculated Points

Delaware driving law stipulates that calculated points are credited at full point value for the first 12 months from the date of violation of a Delaware driving law.

In accordance with Delaware traffic laws, after the initial 12 months have expired, the calculated points will be credited at one-half point value for the next 12 months. All actions are based upon total calculated points within a 24-month period following the offense.

Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program Actions:

In accordance with Delaware driving law, the following actions will be taken with respect to calculated points:

Calculated Points - Action Item

  • 8 - The Division of Motor Vehicles sends the driver an advisory letter.
  • 12 - Driver must complete a behavior modification / attitudinal- driving course within 90 days after notification (unless extended by DMV). Failure to comply or upon preference of the driver, mandatory 2-month suspension will be imposed.
  • 14 - Mandatory 4-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification / attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 16 - Mandatory 6-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 18 - Mandatory 8-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 20 - Mandatory 10-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, he driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 22 - Mandatory 12-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/ attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.

Serious Speeding Violations

In accordance with Delaware driving law, the following actions will be taken with respect to serious speeding violations:

  1. Advisory letter will be sent to the driver when convicted for speeding 20-24 MPH over the posted speed limit.
  2. The driver will be suspended for one (1) month when convicted of driving 25 MPH over the posted speed limit. The length of suspension will increase by one month for each additional 5 MPH over the initial 25-MPH threshold. The driver may elect to attend the behavior modification / attitudinal- driving course in lieu of license suspension when driving 25-29 MPH over the posted limit. For speeding 30 MPH over the posted limit or more, the suspension is mandatory.
  3. One-year suspension when convicted of driving 50 MPH or more over the posted speed limit or driving 100 MPH on a highway.

Driving During Suspension or Revocation

Delaware driving law stipulates that a conviction for driving during suspension or revocation shall extend the period of suspension or revocation for a like period.

Under Delaware traffic laws, no driving authority will be permitted during the balance of the initial suspension or revocation and the extended period. In accordance with Delaware driving law, any driving authority previously issued by the Division must be surrendered.

For More Information

Delaware Department of Transportation

(Source: StateDrivingLaw.com)


Auto Loan Home Page | Auto Loan Calculator | Loan Glossary | Auto Buying vs. Leasing | Dealer Inquiries |
Affiliate Inquiries | Auto Loan FAQs | State Driving Laws | Site Map | Privacy Policy | More Info |
Auto Resources | Auto Loan Links |
Testimonials

© 2018 AutoCredit.com