Alaska Auto Driving Laws
Alaska traffic laws aim squarely at accident prevention through
identification, control and rehabilitation of recognized problem drivers.
It works this way:
- A numeric point value from two to ten points is assigned for each conviction
of a moving traffic violation.
- Those Alaska driving law violations contributing to greater accident
potential carry higher point values.
- Upon the acquisition of a determined number of points, the violator will be
notified and warned to take a hard look at his driving habits.
- Additional point accumulations may require a personal interview with a
Driver Improvement Specialist. Drivers appearing for the interview may be
required to comply with certain recommendations designed to improve their
- Credits may be earned for violation-free driving, and/or completion of a
driver improvement course.
- Under Alaska traffic laws, the accumulation of 12 points in 12 months or 18
points in 24 months requires the mandatory suspension or revocation of the
driving privilege, regardless of the hardships involved.
- A provisional license holder who accumulates 6 or more points in a 12-month
period or 9 or more points in a 24-month period must complete a driver
improvement course approved by the department.
- No limited license is available should suspension or revocation of the
driving privilege be required.
If you are convicted of, or forfeit bail, for a moving traffic violation
occurring in this, or another jurisdiction, points will be assessed on your
Alaska driving record in accordance with the Alaska driving law license point
accumulation and is based on the following schedule.
Alaska Driving Law Point Assignment Schedule
In accordance with Alaska driving law, points are assessed for various
violations as follows:
- Operating a motor vehicle while privilege to do so is suspended or revoked
or in violation of limited license - 10
- Driving while intoxicated - 10
- Reckless driving - 10
- Fleeing or attempting to elude a Police Officer - 10
- Speed contest (Racing) - 10
- Negligent Homicide with a Motor Vehicle - 10
- Manslaughter with a Motor Vehicle - 10
- Assault with a Motor Vehicle - 10
- Leaving the scene of an accident - 9
- Negligent driving - 6
- Failure to yield to authorized emergency vehicle - 6
- Failure to stop for school bus while bus is loading or unloading - 6
- Failure to obey official traffic control devices in school zone, playground
crosswalk, or park - 6
- Careless driving - 4
- Following too close - 4
- Failure to stop or yield - 4
- All other moving violations - 2
- Violation of oversize or overweight permits pertaining to restriction on
hours of operation - 3
- In school zone or playground crosswalk - 6
- 3 to 9 mph over limit - 2
- 10 to 19 mph over limit - 4
- 20 mph or more over limit - 6
For More Information
Alaska Department of Transportation